A fan work - the August Agency

Ok - I’ve never done this before. And what I mean is: post stories online at all. I love investigators in fantasy fiction; and I had this idea about how rumors get blown out of proportion so fast. And so, it’s been written that I can post a fan story here to see if people like it.

I’ve also decided to publish on Royal Road (which is where I originally found PGTS)

Chapter One:

Not the Raven Queen

Month 11, Day 30, 7:00 AM

In a narrow, three story building, which was little more than three large rooms stacked one on top of each other, at the end of a narrow street, and sandwiched between larger buildings, resided the office of the August Agency. And, at an ebonized oak table in that office, sitting on a plain wooden stool, in front of cheap wooden partition, Marie waited for clients.

Marie’s hair was black and dyed blacker. Her lips were painted lampblack. Her eyeshadow was a dark charcoal. Her her eyes were carefully lined with black cosmetic pencil. Her nails were painted a shiny black lacquer. Marie’s clothes were also black: her long-sleeved knee-length dress was as black as she could afford, and her legs covered with tall black oilcloth boots that nearly covered her knees. Altogether, this overwhelmingly black ensemble set off her otherwise warm skin color; giving her a near bone-white appearance.

Surely, this obsession with black would represent a depressed soul.

However, aside from looking like the least welcoming girl in all of Gilbratha, Marie cultivated positive personality. For instance, she would smile at all the potential clients. She would greet the prospective client’s warmly.

For her, this wasn’t all that different than the day-time work at the massage parlor, except, first, she was working in Verdant Stag territory and not over in the Morrows’, and, second, she didn’t get the occasional sense that a patron was interested in her.